Rhode Island Children Book Award Past Winners

               2011     Never Smile at a Monkey by Steve Jenkins

          2010        The Stonekeeper: Amulet Book 1 by Kazu Kibushi

                    2009     Deep and dark and dangerous by Mary Downing Hahn

2008     Clementine by Sara Pennypacker

2007     Stink: The incredible shrinking kid by Megan McDonald

2006     The world according to Humphrey by Betty G. Birney

2005     The tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamilo

2004     Gooney Bird Green by Lois Lowry

2003     Skeleton Man by Joseph Bruchac

2002     The Babe and I by David Adler

2001     Weslandia by Paul Fleischman

2000     Thank you, Mr. Falker by Patricia Polacco

1999     The adventures of Captain Underpants by Dav Pilkey

1998     Frindle by Andrew Clements

1997     Mick Harte was here by Barbara Park

1996     Jacob and the stranger by Sally Derby

1995     The sweetest fig by Chris Van Allsburg

1994     The Stinky Cheese Man by Jon Sciezka

1993     The Houdini box by Brian Selznick

1992     Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli

1991     Something Upstairs by Avi


Back to Homepage

Page was created 7/9/2007 & updated on 3/14/2008
Send comments and suggestions to Beth Anne Goncalves at